One of Virginia’s Leading Families of Law

Auto Accident Uninsured/ Underinsured Coverage 

What Happens If The Person At Fault In An Accident Has No Insurance?

Anyone who has been injured in an accident has plenty to deal with in recovering from their injuries, dealing with the financial consequences of unexpected medical bills, and lost work time. Unfortunately, in some cases, injury victims also encounter being hit an injured by another driver that doesn’t have insurance coverage. This happens more often than one would think, as over 10% of Virginia drivers don’t have insurance, which means there is no liability coverage.

When a negligent driver causes property damage and bodily injury to innocent accident injury victims, the injured party’s accident injury lawyers usually seek to recover from the liability coverage of the negligent party’s liability insurance. Virginia law requires that these policies provide liability coverage in the following minimum amounts:

$25,000

  • for the bodily injury or death of one person

$50,000

  • for the bodily injury or death of two or more people

$20,000

  • for damage to property

When drivers have liability insurance that is below these limits, the driver is uninsured. A driver is also considered to be uninsured if the driver leaves the scene (hit & run) and is unknown.

How Do Uninsured Motorist Claims Work?

In a normal accident a claim is filed against the at-fault drivers liability auto insurance. However, when that driver’s policy limits are not enough to cover the losses, or the driver is uninsured, there are options that our attorneys can use to help the injury victim recover compensation. These options include:

 

N

File a claim through your own UM/UIM Policy

If you have uninsured motorist or Under Insured Motorist coverage, you can file a claim against your own insurance company. This type of insurance will pay up to the policy limits of your policy. The exception to this would be if the injured party opted out of this coverage for some reason.
N

Other Insurance Coverage

Some individuals purchase “medpay”, coverage, which can cover a portion of their medical bills. They may also have collision coverage that covers property damage.
N

Third Party Coverage

In some cases, there are other responsible parties besides the driver who caused the accident. If the responsible or at-fault party was driving a company vehicle or acting on behalf of their employer at the time of the accident, the employer can be held liable for any negligent acts of its employee.
N

Recover from the Driver’s Personal Assets

When no other compensation is available, you can seek to recover from the negligent driver’s personal assets. In most cases, these assets are not enough to cover your losses.

FAQ

Understanding Your Accident & Injury Claim

Accident Injury claims are often complex legal matters that are difficult for most people to handle alone. Filing a claim is not as simple as filing out a form and waiting for a check in the mail. Most accident victims require the help of a skilled attorney who has intricate knowledge of Virginia’s personal injury laws and experience working with insurance companies to obtain the best results. The attorneys at Trost Law Group use their decades of experience and skills, along with the firm’s extensive resources to meet our clients needs and obtain the maximum compensation our clients deserve.
HOW DO I KNOW IF I HAVE A CASE?
If you have an injury that effects your ability to live your normal life you should contact our office to protect your rights. Our attorneys have a strong record of success and will review your case to see if we can prove your accident and injuries were caused by the other party’s negligence.
WHEN SHOULD I CALL ABOUT MY CASE?
In most cases, it is in your best interests to start as soon as possible with the collection of evidence and the identification of potential witnesses. In Virginia, the time limit to take legal action against the party responsible for causing the injury is two years. This is referred to as the “statute of limitations”. If you don’t file a lawsuit against those at fault for the accident before the end of that period, you will forever lose your right to file a lawsuit against those responsible for the incident.
DO YOU CHARGE UPFRONT FEES TO HANDLE MY CASE?
Our firm does not charge any up front fees for representation in an Accident or Personal Injury case. We offer a free, no obligation case review to evaluate your claim. Once representation begins we work on a contingency basis, which means we don’t get paid unless you do.
WILL YOU TELL ME HOW MUCH MY CASE IS WORTH?
Yes, at your initial free case review, our lawyers will use their unrivaled knowledge and decades of experience in Virginia Accident & Personal Injury Law to evaluate your claim. We will pursue every option to help you maximize the compensation you will need to recover from your injury and losses.

Protecting Our Clients Rights

With decades of trial experience and an unrivaled commitment to our clients, Trost Law Group aggressively defends the rights of our clients and is ready to make a difference for you. We are one of Virginia’s leading personal injury law firms and help clients statewide. Each client is treated as a member of the family with a dedicated case manager that is always available to help you.

Why Choose Us?

The Trost Law Difference

Each year thousands of accident and injury victims in Virginia search for the right firm to help them. Hiring an attorney to represent you with your injury claim is one of the first and most important decisions you can make, and one that you have full control over.

At Trost Law Group, our experienced and dedicated Injury Lawyers have used their unrivaled skill and experienced to help thousands of injured clients throughout the state of Virginia for the past 35 years. All of our clients are assigned to a dedicated case manager, and are treated like part of the family. Contact us today to begin the defense of your case with our free, no obligation case review and experience the Trost difference.

N

Decades of Skill & Experience

Our team has had decades of first hand litigation and trial experience that we put to use for the benefit of our clients.
N

No Upfront Fees

Because we accept personal injury cases on a contingency fee basis, you won’t pay any legal fees unless we win your case. A percentage of the final recovery will be used to pay for our services.
N

Time Tested & Proven Results

We have developed time tested and proven methods over the past 35 years that have resulted in maximum compensation for our clients.
N

Free Case Review

There is no cost for us to get started on your case. At anytime you can request a no-obligation, free case review by filling out our online form or calling our office today.

You Pay Nothing Unless We Recover For You!

Fill out the following form or call (434) 528-4222 to request your Free Case Review.

11 + 7 =

We Have an Unwavering Commitment to Our Clients.

Give Us A Call

(434) 528-4222

Randall J. Trost, P.C

Main Office
801 Main Street, 10th Floor
Lynchburg, VA 24504

Secondary Office
122 S Market St.
#B, Danville, VA 24541